The Academy elects 2016-2017 Board of Governors

Source: Press Release from the Academy Publicity Department

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Science has announced today, July 18, 2016 its newly elected 2016-2017 Board of Governors. Some that were elected to the Board for the first were Laura Dern (Actors Brand), Sharen K. Davis (Costume Designers Branch), Steven Spielberg (Directors Branch), Laura Karpman (Music Brand).

Incumbent governors that were re-elected to the Board include David Rubin (Casting Directors Branch), Jon Bloom (Short Films and Feature Animation Branch), and Nancy Utley (Public Relations Branch). 

Those that are returning to the Board after a hiatus are governors William M. Mechanic (Executives Branch), Leonard Engelmann (Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch) and Craig Barron (Visual Effects Branch). 

A runoff election is required for the Film Editors Branch. There was a tie in the Academy's Film Editors Branch between candidates Maryann Brandon and Mark Goldblatt. So voting will begin July 25 and end on July 28. The last time the Academy held a runoff election was in 2015 for the Writers Branch.
The Academy's 17 branches are represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. To see a complete list of members please click here.