David Rubin will produce the 8th Annual Governors Awards

 Source: Academy Publicity Department Press Release 

David Rubin. Photo Source: Academy Publicity Department PR

Casting director and producer David Rubin will produce the 8th Annual Governors Awards for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Academy President, Cheryl Boone Issacs had announced yesterday (Sept. 27). 

The Honorary Awards will be presented to actor Jackie Chan, film editor Anne V. Coates, casting director Lynn Stalmaster, and documentary filmmaker Frederick Wiseman. This will take place on Nov. 12 at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at the Hollywood & Highland Center. 

Rubins had this to say about producing the Academy Event:
“I am delighted and truly honored by this opportunity to help my fellow Academy governors pay tribute to four cinema legends,” said Rubin.  “Jackie Chan, Anne Coates, Lynn Stalmaster and Frederick Wiseman have each forged a unique, trailblazing path that has left an enduring film legacy.  I look forward to producing the celebration they so richly deserve.” (Via Academy Publicity Department PR)
 Rubin's has received five Emmy nominations and won an Emmy for the TV movie, "Game Change." He has cast such features as the upcoming Warren Beatty film, "Rules Don't Apply," as well as "Trumbo," "Wild," "Lars and the Real Gir," "Men in Black," "The English Patient," and many others.

He also serves on the Academy's Board of Governors, which he represents the Casting Director Brand.