9 Foreign Films advance to the next round of voting in the Foreign Language Film Category

Source: Academy Awards Press Release 

"Son of Saul" was last year's winner. Who will win this year? Photo Source: The Academy

Eighty-five films were originally considered for the Foreign Langue category for the 89th Academy Awards and now nine are advancing to the next round of voting. The films are determined by two phases.

So here's the advancement list: 
  1. Australia, “Tanna,” Bentley Dean, Martin Butler, directors;
  2. Canada, “It’s Only the End of the World,” Xavier Dolan, director;
  3. Denmark, “Land of Mine,” Martin Zandvliet, director;
  4. Germany, “Toni Erdmann,” Maren Ade, director;
  5. Iran, “The Salesman,” Asghar Farhadi, director;
  6. Norway, “The King’s Choice,” Erik Poppe, director;
  7. Russia, “Paradise,” Andrei Konchalovsky, director;
  8. Sweden, “A Man Called Ove,” Hannes Holm, director;
  9. Switzerland, “My Life as a Zucchini,” Claude Barras, director. 
Last year's winner was the Hungarian film, "Son of Saul" and the director was Laszlo Nemes

What's also interesting is the Foreign Language Film Category was first introduced in 1956 and it's celebrating its 60th anniversary this year. The Academy has created a complete playlist of acceptance speeches and a poster gallery of all the Foreign Language winners. So be sure to check them out.

The Academy Award nominees will be announced on Jan 24, 2017. The 89th Academy Awards will be on Feb. 26, 2017 at the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highlander Center in Hollywood. It will also be on ABC at 7 p.m. EST.